The Meeker Adventure Day Four

Today I woke up and hit the road rather early.  My goal was to get to Mt. Rushmore in the evening and be there when it was lit up for the night.  Montana is a beautiful state. Click on the picture to load a larger version.

I was in Buffalo Country.

And I had to watch out for rattle snakes!

I finally made it to Wyoming.

Again, surrounded by beauty.

I arrived at Rapid City SD with enough time to check in, grab a bite and hit Mt. Rushmore before it got dark.  I have to say, I was quite impressed.  I was a little apprehensive that it wouldn’t be all that spectacular and I would be disappointed (like the time I saw the Mona Lisa, which is much smaller than I expected).  I was pleasantly surprised at its scale.

A closer view shows the detail of the sculpture.

At 8 PM, there was a service highlighting each of the four presidents.  It included a park ranger talking about Mt. Rushmore, a very nice video on a digital screen, signing of the National Anthem, a time to recognize all current and past service men on stage (there were about 100 there) and concluded with the lighting of Mt. Rushmore.

If you ever go to Mt. Rushmore, go in the evening and stay for the lighting.  Not only is a great view, the service was well put together.  It was modern, yet reflective and patriotic.

After my visit to Mt. Rushmore, I went back to my hotel.  My room made me feel like I was sleeping in an episode of Miami Vice.  Super 8’s most recent remodel was a FAIL in my opinion.  Remember, I was in South Dakota, not Florida!  My walls almost glowed after I turned off the lights!

One comment on “The Meeker Adventure Day Four

  1. Jay Wile says:

    Great pictures! The last time I was at Mt. Rushmore, I was a little kid. I don’t remember a night show. Now you’ve given me another reason to go back.

Leave a Reply

