A Real New Year’s Resolution

Lots of people make resolutions to ring in the new year… And last year (2012), I made a resolution to run a 5k in May.  I started training in February.  Typically 3 times a week utilizing a ‘Couch to 5k’ app on my iPod.  Sometimes it was fun, other times not so much.  But after a lot of miles, Autumn (who had been training separately) joined me and together we ran and crossed the finish line.  It was a great feeling!  I had accomplished a goal that took a lot of hard work for my fat body!

Well… after hitting my goal of running a 5k, guess what I did… I stopped running.  Work gets busy for me in May – July as I travel a lot, so it was so easy for me to just simply stop.  I have found that when I have a goal, I work really hard to accomplish it, but when I have no specific goal, I simply become stagnate.  So now I am setting a new goal!

Spoiler alert – I have never been fatter in my life than I am right now… which is scary since I am 35, and I have high triglycerides and a family history of heart disease.   I work from home, at a desk, and when I am on the road, I eat out a lot.  I love potatoes (fried, mashed, baked, scalloped, french fries, chips) and crackers (Wheat Thins, Triscuits, saltines).  Autumn and I like to go out to eat, and I always get the fried whatever with a side of fat.  I drink diet soda like my life depends on it (36-68 ounces a day).  As I write this I realize what my wife has been telling me for a while… I am not taking care of myself.  In fact, I’d say that I am either trying to pickle my liver / kidneys or hoping that my diet and lack of exercise bumps me off before my liver and kidneys go out!

On May 11th, 2013, I am going to run a 10k!  I am going to participate in the new 10k race of the “Run for Freedom” in Marion, Indiana (http://www.runforfreedom5k.com/).  With this blog, I am going to keep track of my training, my caloric intake, my weight, and my thoughts.  You are welcome to read it as I know that EVERYONE wants to keep track of my weight!  🙂  This blog is more for me to stay accountable to myself than it is for your reading pleasure, but I know that I have so many followers and fans that just want to know my every thought and whim, so this blog is for you too.

My first training run and post will be January 7th.  I will be running 3 times a week, so there will be at least 3 updates per week.  If you notice that I haven’t updated for a while, feel free to harass me! ~ HM

One comment on “A Real New Year’s Resolution

  1. Jay Wile says:

    Well, you still did better than most people with their New Year’s resolutions! I look forward to reading your progress on this new one.

Leave a Reply

